OUR ADULT CHILDREN NEED OUR PRAYERS…

We live in difficult times. I am learning more and more how we as parents need to pray for our children. My children happen to be adults but that surely doesn’t mean my work is done. I know as a fact, we based our parenting on Christian Principles and tried to the best of our ability, with the information we had to claim the verse Proverbs 22:6 “Train up a child in the way he should go and when he is old we will not depart from it.” I can remember our oldest son, Rob said after living a lifestyle that scared me saying, “mom why don’t you trust what you taught me?” That put me back on track!

Parenting is never over. Those nights I stayed up with my babies with fevers or trying to stay awake to feed or diaper them was a “piece a cake” compared to seeing my Adult Child face life’s challenges head on with deep pain at sometime. I ran across a book recently online written by Stormie Omartian, who is a writer of many books on Prayer and knows what she is talking about. It is a must, go to Amazon,com to check it out.
It is THE POWER OF PRAYING FOR YOUR ADULT CHILDREN.

In this book the writer has a prayer I am using to word for my precious kids. I feel a responsibility to keep them covered in prayer and this one covers it all. I feel someone; somewhere, can use it as a comfort and good plan as they cast their cares into our Heavenly Father’s care. I’ll never forget hearing my grandfather call out my name to God, little did he know as a small child, I was listening at the door of his room speak my name asking God to keep me in His care. I think today those prayers are still being answered. This is a vital opportunity as parents to put into action words that will carry our children through the storms of life in this world, as they develop into our adult children that will not depart from His Word…. That’s a promise!

Here is the prayer that is in the book. Use it as Holy Spirit moves you in praying for that one who is dear to your heart…

A PRAYER FOR OUR ADULT CHILDREN – taken from Stormie Omartian’s book

“Lord, You have said that in the last days You will pour out Your Spirit upon all flesh. I cry out to You from the depths of my heart and ask that You would pour out Your Holy Spirit upon my adult children. Pour out Your Spirit upon me and my other family members as well. Pour out Your Spirit on all my adult children’s in laws, both present and future. Pour out Your Spirit upon whatever difficult circumstances each of my adult children is facing. Be Lord over every part of their lives and every aspect of their beings. Speak to my adult children’s hearts and help them to hear from You. Enable them to understand Your leading and direction for their lives. In Jesus Name I pray.”

Leave a Reply

