THE LOST ART OF THROWING VALENTINES…

Have you ever heard of “Throwing Valentines”?  Let me tell you about it. If you lived in Atlanta, Georgia back in the 1950‘s you would have seen at lot of that going on the night of Valentine’s Day.  When I was a young girl I could not wait for this event. Not many talk about it these days, it is truly a Lost Art. 

Preparation for this event began as soon Valentines were placed for sale on the store shelves.  The bigger the package of cards the better, I had lots of friends to give these to at school and that night.

At a special time, before the special day arrived, I would sit down with pencil in hand, taking great pains to collect the right card for the person I wanted to receive one.  At that time, I would write my words saying what I wanted them to read.  When I finished I would divide them, one pile was for school and the other was for “throwing to my neighbor friends” that night.

On the day of Valentines, we were ask by our teacher to bring our cards in a bag and a decorated box for the cards we would receive at our
Valentine’s party. I was so excited!

After a day of study the teacher would ask us to put away our books and get out all the things we brought for this special time.  The room mother’s would have arrived and put out the decorations, table clothes, cup cakes and drinks all in red and white.  We got so excited the teacher had to call us down and to stay in our seats.  I think she actually let us get to a certain level of “out of control” to let us express our emotions over this special time.  We would immediately act at her command, knowing the sooner the better.  The cards were all distributed by this time and we could finally take them out to read what was written by our friends.  The food would be “downed”, the room cleaned and on our way to our homes we would go to get ready for the night.

When darkness of night came, I would set out with my bag of Valentine cards to give to my neighbor friends.  It had to be a well thought out act to sneak up near their porch and throw their Valentine.  You would run up quietly on their porch, place the card near the door, step back throw a small rock and run as fast as you could so you would not be seen.  It was fun looking back and watching them come out and get what you had carefully written from your heart. 

I couldn’t wait to get home and find several cards with rocks laying beside them. ( here you will find a picture of my house where I grew up 9 miles south of downtown Atlanta, it was lots of steps for one to climb to throw a rock and run)

My family knew they better not touch them until I got home. They sat with me as I looked through all the cards I had gotten that day and night.  Some were so funny we would laugh till our sides hurt.

Those were fun times that have been lost in our day.  Things and times change but you can still find the cards at the store.  Why don’t you go today and get that well thought out card for those you love. It will still be fun for you and the one who reads what comes from your heart. 

Better not practice this Lost Art today you might get in trouble, sad to say.  You can mail it or hand it to the one you care about. Let my taking you back in the “good ole days” be enough to keep this “Lost Art of Throwing Valentines” known but resting in the past.  Back then things were safer and living was easier…..

If I could throw a rock on your porch Valentine’s night you would find this card from me…

                                 ………..Enjoy your Valentine’s Day!!!

Ran across this song and as I listened it reminded me of how Father loves us……..

One thought on “THE LOST ART OF THROWING VALENTINES…

  1. Thank you for sharing. I also grew up in Atlanta and as a child thew Valentines. I was telling my children about it and they thought it sounded like a crazy thing to do. But life was much simpler and gentle back then. Thanks for bring back a memory.

Leave a Reply

